Skip to content

Scholarships and Prizes

The School of Physical Sciences recognises outstanding achievement through a range of scholarships and prizes.

The school would also like to acknowledge with gratitude the generosity from donors and industry to allow the number of awards available to our students.

  • Scholarships

    Science scholarships


    • DEFEST Defence Scholarships
    • The Ferry Scholarships
    • DSTO Scholarships in Photonics


    • Barker Tong Scholarship in Physics

    Summer research scholarship

    If you are interested in doing further research in chemistry, earth sciences (geology) and physics during or after your undergraduate degree, discover our summer research scholarship projects and information.

  • Awards & Prizes

    There are several Scholarships and Awards in each area of Chemistry, Earth Sciences and Physics for high achieving students. More information can be found on our Awards & Prizes page.

  • Other Scholarships & Prizes
    Silver Bragg Medal

    Ben Geytenbeek is the University of Adelaide nomination for the Silver Bragg medal, awarded by the South Australian branch of the AIP, for the highest achievement in the final undergraduate year.

    David Murray Scholarship

    Philip Grace is the winner of the David Murray Scholarship for the student who has the highest academic results in the BSc degree and is enrolled in Honours.

    Playford Memorial Trust Scholarships
    • Playford Trust Honours Scholarship
      Matthew Gard, Geology & Geophysics
    • Hillgrove Resource/Playford Trust Honours Scholarship in Geology
      Alicia Pollett, Geology & Geophysics
    • GSA/Playford Trust Honours Scholarship in Earth Science
      Brandon Alessio, Geology
    • Scantech / Playford Trust PhD Scholarship
      Jillian Moffat, Physics


School of Physical Sciences

School of Physical Sciences
Physics Building


T: +61 8 8313 5996
F: +61 8 8313 4380

Student Enquiries

Call +61 8 8313 5673

(Monday - Friday: 9am – 5pm)

Search the Knowledge Base