Skip to content

Student Achievements and Awards

2018 Elsevier Research Scholarship

Jake Andrae (PhD candidate, School of Physical Sciences and Sprigg Geobiology Centre) has won a 2018 Elsevier Research Scholarship for his research, Plant wax hydrogen isotope palaeohydrology across the expansion of C4 vegetation in Australia. He will receive a prize of €3000 to contribute towards research visits to other institutions. Further information

Dillon Brown, Dr Richard Lilly and Maddison Booth

Playford Memorial Trust Scholarship Winners 2018

Congratulations to Sarah McDonald, Dillon Brown and Maddison Booth who have been awarded the Playford Memorial Trust Scholarship for 2018

Alex Chambers

Student-led Teaching Award 2017

Alex Chambers has been awarded the Student-led Teaching Award for 2017

Michael Huxley

Stranks Award 2017

Michael Huxley has been awarded the Stranks Award 2017 for the best student presentation at the Inorganic Division component of the RACI Centenary Conference.

This is a very prestigious award in the Inorganic Division.

Exploration 17 Toronto

Congratulations to our Earth Sciences Students (11 students ranging from first, second, third and honours levels) who have won their category at the International Mining Exploration Conference (Exploration 17) in Toronto.

The students were finalists in the Global Geophysical Competition (Frank Arnott Award) on innovation in data visualisation which earned them the right to present at the international Mining Exploration Conference, Exploration 17 held in Toronto in October 2017.

The team developed an innovative 3D printer approach to generate new geophysical imaging and visualisation methods.

Congratulations to students Angus Nixon, Larissa Collins, Mike Rieger, Ben Kay, Teagan Romyn, Racheal Mahlknecht, Melissa Stinear, Sarah McDonald, Jianan Chen, Kiryeong Lee, and Jamieson Woolcock.

Luke George

Dean's Commendation for Doctoral Thesis Excellence

Luke George (Department of Earth Sciences) has been awarded a ‘Dean’s Commendation for Doctoral Thesis Excellence’ for his PhD.

Luke's thesis is titled:Trace Element Distributions and Partitioning Trends in Hydrothermal Base Metal Sulphide Ores Comprising Sphalerite, Galena, Chalcopyrite and Tetrahedtire-Tennantite.

Hilton Lam

Reaxys PhD Prize

Hiu (Hilton) Lam (PhD candidate, Chemistry) is one of 45 finalists globally and the only one from Australia in the 2017 Reaxys PhD Prize which aims to foster creativity in ground-breaking chemistry.

Hiu Lam was recognised for the remarkable originality, innovation, relevance and methodological rigor of his paper” Biomimetic Total Synthesis of Hyperjapones A–E and Hyperjaponols A and C – an example of synthesis of complex natural products by mimicking how these organic substances are derived in nature.

The final prizes will be awarded in October.

Dr Henry Pepper

The Mander Best PhD Thesis in Organic Chemistry Award

Dr Henry Pepper  has been awarded The Mander Best PhD Thesis in Organic Chemistry Award for 2017.

The Mander Award recognizes the best PhD thesis in the field of organic chemistry.

This award is for outstanding achievement and communication in organic chemistry.


Dr Phiala Shanahan

Dr Phiala Shanahan

Dr Phiala Shanahan (Department of Physics) has been honoured by an exceptional number of prestigious awards for her PhD research, undertaken within the Centre for the Subatomic Structure of Matter and the ARC Centre of Excellence in Particle Physics.

The awards include the 2016 Bragg Gold Medal of the Australian Institute of Physics for Excellence in Physics, the 2016 SA Science Excellence Award for PhD Research Excellence,  the American Physical Society’s 2017 Dissertation Award of the Topical Group on Hadron Physics and of course the University of Adelaide's 2016 Postgraduate Alumni Medal. Her PhD thesis was also selected for publication in the Springer Theses series, which recognizes outstanding PhD research. The Bragg Gold Medal will be presented to Phiala at the Joint 13th Asia Pacific Conference and 22nd Australian Institute of Physics Congress in Brisbane in December.

Mark Brooke

John Monash Scholar - Mark Brooke

Mark has a Bachelor of Science with First Class Honours from The University of Adelaide, focused on high performance computational physics. During his Honours he developed new treatment and imaging algorithms for proton therapy.

Mark won a Prime Minister’s Australia Asia Award to undertake an internship at the Queen Mary Hospital (Hong Kong). He has been learning Cantonese and Mandarin, French and Swedish; and plays tennis to a high level. His MSc aims to develop proton therapy for cancer treatment, to improve effectiveness and reduce damage from radiotherapy, allowing treatment of paediatric, spinal and eye cancers.

Join your alumni LinkedIn group

As a graduate of the School of Physical Sciences you are invited to join these new LinkedIn groups:

It's a great way to connect with your fellow alumni, stay in touch and is the place to hear about professional development and job opportunities.

School of Physical Sciences

School of Physical Sciences
Physics Building


T: +61 8 8313 5996
F: +61 8 8313 4380

Student Enquiries

Call +61 8 8313 5673

(Monday - Friday: 9am – 5pm)

Search the Knowledge Base