Skip to content

Staff News

New Staff

Mr Zheng Yu
Research Officer in Physics with Stephen Warren-Smith

Date started: 15 May 2017

Dr Ben Sparkes
DECRA Fellow in Physics with Andre Luiten

Date started: 6 February 2017

Dr Giuseppe Tettamanzi
University Senior Research Fellow in Physics with Andre Luiten

Date started: 1 February 2017



2017 Bowie Medal

Associate Professor Tara Pukala has been awarded the 2017 Bowie Medal from the Australian and New Zealand Society for Mass Spectrometry (ANZSMS). The Bowie Medal honors the contributions of Professor John Bowie to the development of mass spectrometry in Australia, and is awarded to recognize the achievements of a young (<45 yo) Australia or New Zealand researcher who is pursuing research in any area of mass spectrometry.

Tara will receive the medal and present a special lecture at the 26th biennial ANZSMS conference to be held this July in Adelaide.

Citation for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning

The Foundations of Chemistry Team of Professor Greg Metha, Dr Natalie Williamson, Dr David Huang and Dr Stephen Bell have won this year's Citation for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning. The award was given for restructuring the first year chemistry pathway to provide students, with limited chemistry knowledge, a supportive learning environment that encourages engagement and academic excellence.

Distinguished Lectureship Award, Chemical Society of Japan (CSJ)

Associate Professor Christian Doonan has been awarded the Distinguished Lectureship Award from the Chemical Society of Japan (CSJ). The award is for a researcher under the age of 40 who is internationally recognised in their field, in this case supramolecular coordination chemistry.

Sandy Mathieson Medal, Society of Crystallographers in Australia and New Zealand (SCANZ)

It is a pleasure to announce that Associate Professor Chris Sumby has been awarded the prestigious Sandy Mathieson Medal from the Society of Crystallographers in Australia and New Zealand (SCANZ). The award recognises distinguished contributions to science involving X-ray, neutron or electron diffraction or imaging by a researcher under 40 years of age. It is awarded on the quality of published scientific work, together with evidence of standing within the international community. Chris will receive his medal at the SCANZ meeting next month in Hobart and deliver the Mathieson Medal Lecture. Congratulations Chris - well done and well-deserved.

Barbara Kidman Women's Fellowship

Dr Sabrina Heng is a recipient of the Barbara Kidman Women's Fellowship for 2016. This fellowship supports female academics to re-invigorate their research after they have taken time away from work to raise a family.

School of Physical Sciences

School of Physical Sciences
Physics Building


T: +61 8 8313 5996
F: +61 8 8313 4380

Student Enquires

T: +61 8 8313 5673
F: +61 8 8313 4386